Fredericton Region Museum Annual Open House

The Fredericton Region Museum is located at 571 Queen Street, in Officers’ Square, Fredericton, NB.

Learn about local history and form a bond with the community! The Fredericton Region Museum invites you to attend their annual Open House this Sunday August 19th 10am – 4pm.

With free admission, the Open House is a great opportunity for the entire family to explore the history of our province, in particular York and Sunbury Counties.

We invite the community to come and explore our many exhibitions, including the beloved Coleman Frog, a 42 pound gentle-giant found in Killarney Lake! Activities include a children’s craft and a 12:30pm performance by local band Margo Margo.

Going outside the box, the Fredericton Region Museum is offering a behind the scenes look at working with artefacts. A categorizing exercise will be taking place on our normally closed-off third floor. This activity, known as accessioning, is an opportunity to see what takes place beyond the exhibits in the museum. This is a once in a year opportunity, as it takes place only during the Open House.

The Museum will be fundraising for a children’s component to our medical exhibition. Fundraisers include a craft raffle and a book sale. All books will be on sale for $1, and the raffle tickets will be on sale for $2 each or three for $5.

Suitable for all ages, the Open House offers the opportunity to explore Fredericton’s hidden treasures. This project is supported by Downtown Fredericton Incorporated Special Events Grant.

About the Fredericton Region Museum
The Fredericton Region Museum was founded in 1934 by the York Sunbury Historical Society. In 1959, the Museum found permanent headquarters in the Officers’ Quarters (571 Queen Street) in the heart of downtown Fredericton. The Society and Museum remain a non-profit enterprise with a small paid staff and numerous volunteers who work tirelessly to create informative exhibits based on the history of Fredericton and surrounding areas, as well as publish a local history periodical, The Officers’ Quarters.