MediaNB Annual General Meeting Held

Producers of film, television, and media industries of New Brunswick gathered in Fredericton on Friday April 8th for the MediaNB Annual General Meeting, the day following the government’s vote to eliminate the tax credit for the industry. To say that the producers are disappointed with the Alward government’s decision to eliminate the tax credit for our industry is an understatement.

At the annual meeting the association elected a new board comprised of Maurice André Aubin, Gia Milani, Tony Whalen, Greg Hemmings, Gene Fowler, Pauline Bourque, Brian Francis and Ralph Pritchard.

The association has given itself the mandate to meet and work with the government to find a solution to the uncertainty that the industry is faced with in the immediate future. Time is of the essence.

Many major events and festivals that are important for the development and selling of future projects of New Brunswick producers will be taking place in the coming summer months. If the producers do not have a working system in place by this time the industry will basically have no other option but to close all future business in New Brunswick for years to come.

MediaNB thanks all those who came out in support for our cause and also to the thousands who have signed our online petition. We will not give up on the ambitions of our producers and on the artists and artisans that make our stories and our province known to the world.

Long live New Brunswick film-television and media!