SappyFest 7: Everybody Knows This is Nowhere

SappyFest 2012 Teaser from SappyFest on Vimeo.

In just six years, SappyFest has emerged as one of the most exciting and acclaimed independent music festivals in Canada. Run by artists for artists, SappyFest has developed its fanbase and reputation through innovative programming that focuses on creativity and community. The festival’s uniqueness lies in combining the atmosphere of a folk festival, with an eclectic, contemporary lineup, set against the backdrop of Sackville, New Brunswick’s historic downtown.

The undisputed queen and first lady of SappyFest returns with a new band and new songs, Sackville NB, August 3rd – 5th.

SappyFest 7 will take place August 3rd – 5th.

The main stage is presented in the centre of town on the core commercial street, with smaller adjacent venues including an outdoor bandstand, art deco theatre, turn of the century church, Royal Canadian Legion, and a haunted roadhouse, all within walking distance. For three days at the height of summer, this picturesque little maritime town comes alive with a diverse program of independent music complemented by visual art, contemporary dance, readings, a small press fair, screenings, and street market.

SappyFest 7 is excited to announce the addition of Eternal Summers, Each Other, Wet Denim, Alex Durlak, and Light Fires to the 2012 line-up. The festival has also released a promo video for this year’s festival and launched a new website.

Brooklyn, New York’s Eternal Summers with “Wonder” official music video

In addition to the fabulous musical performances, there is a delicate menagerie of other activities to participate in, including: City Mail, Sappy Times, Zine Fair, Street Market, The Talking Exploding Diamond Talk Show, Universal Dawn, Kids Corner Power Jam, Candlepin Bowling, and Cumberland County Softball.

There are special projects by Daniel Barrow, Christine Swintak & Don Miller, Andrew Maize, Jon Claytor, Leanne Zacharius, and Cat Pontoon. Also, expect elocutionary happenings from Ian Roy, Misha Bower, Eric Hill, Vish Khanna, Sean Michaels, Adam O’Reilly, Mitchell Wiebe and more.

The complete line-up of musical performers at SappyFest 7 is:

Alex Durlak, Andre Ethier, Astral Gunk, B.A. Johnston, Baby Eagle & The Proud Mothers, Bad Vibrations, Banded Stilts, Bruce Peninsula, Bry Webb, Caged Animals, Calvin Johnson, Canailles, Christine Fellows, Cold Specks, Cold Warps, Cousins, Del Bel, Deloro, Dog Day, Duzheknew, Each Other, Eamon McGrath, Eternal Summers, Nick Ferrio & His Feelings, Fiver, Frederick Squire & Katherine Maki, Fucked Up, Hey Mother Death, Josephine Foster, Julie Doiron, Katie & The Lichen, Light Fires, Man Forever, Marine Dreams, METZ, Michael Hurley, Mike O’Brien, Mike O’Neill, Mouthbreathers, The Music Tapes, Nap Eyes, Oneida, Ponctuation, Slowdance, Snailhouse, Southern Shores, Steamboat, The Blow, The Pining, Thee Silver Mt. Zion Memorial Orchestra, Timber Timbre, Tomboyfriend, Wet Denim, YAMANTAKA // SONIC TITAN, Yellow Teeth

Passes are available online now at They are also available at any Ticketpro outlet, or in Sackville at Thunder & Lightning Ltd. (6 Ford Lane, Sackville, NB).

For more information on SappyFest, visit: